Skip to main content

Confusing / misleading keypad PIN status for cleaning tasks

I have my account configured to NOT generate unique PINs for each cleaning. This is because each cleaner has their own semi-permanent keypad code (that is configured on the lock itself to only work during turnover hours).

Under Operations, when I go to assign a cleaning task to a cleaner, the PIN status shows as “Cancelled”, and the tooltip that displays when you hover over it says, “Cancelled Externally”. (See screenshot below)

This led me down a rabbit hole of thinking something was wrong, or that an error had occurred. “WHAT got cancelled? Why? What does ‘cancelled externally’ mean?”

I also mistakenly thought that it had to do with the GUEST’s keypad code, rather than the cleaner’s.

Support helped me understand what it really meant. But it occurred to me that the confusion would have been avoided if the status had said “N/A” instead of “Cancelled” and if the tooltip said something like “Task-specific PIN codes are not enabled”

Status: Backlog1 comment

Log in to comment and vote

Comments1

  • Andrew Schorr

    Team•

    Nov 11, 2025

    Thanks for taking the time to give us great feedback on that! I’ve passed it on to the smart device team to review how we can make it more clear.